Grandma’s Cornbread

I’ve decided to start a new “mini-series” so to speak on my blog: baking your own bread. Initially baking my own bread was intimidating but I quickly found that it’s really not that difficult. It’s also way cheaper than buying store-bought, tastes better than the prepackaged stuff, you can control the ingredients yourself and your house smells ah-maz-ing when you’re done. Seriously, I wish you could smell my house right now. Plus, people are unbelievably impressed when you bring a homemade baguette or still warm pita bread to a party, making your contribution an instant hit.

I know this first recipe is not a more traditional yeast bread, but being Southern it’s been a staple in my diet for as long as I can remember. This recipe came from my grandmother’s kitchen, where one day my mother and I sat with her and measured her “handful of cornmeal,” “tea cup of milk,” and “pinch of salt.” I love this with chili, beans and greens, or as a breakfast side. It’s the first bread I ever baked and I hope y’all enjoy it half as much as I do. As proof of how often I make this, let me share with you a picture of my recipe card:

Cornbread Recipe Card

Grandma’s Cornbread

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup all-purpose or whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil or melted butter
  • 1/4 cup honey or sugar (honey’s better!)
  • 1 egg beaten

Preheat oven to 400 F. Grease 1 12-portion muffin pan, 9 in square casserole or 9 in round pan (cast iron is best!). In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Gently stir in wet ingredients. Poor batter into prepared dish. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

*Helpful hint: measure oil then use same cup to measure honey for an easier clean up!*

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

