The First Year

A year ago today (or yesterday, depending on when this actually gets posted) I published my first post, The Mission Statement. It’s both hard and easy to believe it’s been a full year, as cliche as it sounds. I’ve made great strides on the road to fiscal responsibility, focused my academic career, and had some fun. Along the way I’ve been surprised that while it has been challenging, I’ve rarely felt deprived; instead I feel in control and ready to take on the world. I’ve also been touched by how willing my friends are to make cheaper plans and how generous they can be. Fortunately, I’ve also had plenty of opportunities to share as well, giving of what I have, which makes me feel richer.

According to my stats, the posts that were the most popular surprised me.

5. Strawberry Vanilla Jam

4. Sweet Pickle Relish

3. Homemade Deodorant, Updated

2. No Sugar Blackberry Jam

And far and away, my most popular post:

1. DIY Scarf Hanger

Clearly you guys like my craft and canning posts. Seems I’ll have to record more of my efforts to do it myself. Seriously, though. Y’all apparently really love that scarf hanger, 5 of the top 10 search terms that lead to my blog are related to DIY scarf hanger. Also quite a few of you have issues with rash from homemade deodorant, because that shows up 4 times in the top 20.

Anyways, thank you for reading. Thanks for the advice. Thanks for making me feel like a friend.

2 Comments

Filed under Checking-In, DIY, Recipe

2 responses to “The First Year

  1. Mary, thanks for posting your top 5! I’ve been doing some work on my top 5 posts of the past year as well! I have also emailed you with the Perfume review! I hope you got it 🙂 Happy New Year!
    Z

  2. Thanks Zhenya! And thanks for writing the review. I went computer free for the last week, so I’m trying to catch up. Have a great New Year yourself!

Leave a Reply

