Pumpkin Stew with Dumplings

Way back in the dark ages before I became a vegetarian, chicken and dumplings was one of my favorite dishes. When I gave up meat I didn’t really miss the chicken part but I did miss the dumpling part. I decided to combine some classic flavors from southern gardens to make a new hearty vegetarian dish worth of my beloved dumplings. It’s probably not how you’re used to seeing pumpkin or dumplings used but believe me, you’ll love it.

This time around I used a short cut to make the dumplings, but if you’d like a homemade recipe for dumplings, let me know!

Pumpkin Stew with Dumplings

  • 4 tbsp vegetable oil, divided
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree, or 1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 1 14 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups baby lima beans (frozen is fine)
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 cups Trader Joe’s whole meal baking mix (or equivalent)
  • 2/3 cup milk

In a large stock pot, heat 1 tbsp vegetable oil over medium heat then sautee onions under soft and translucent, about 5 minutes. Add pumpkin, tomatoes, beans and broth and bring to a boil. Simmer covered for 30 minutes or until the squash has cooked through (if not using precooked squash). In a bowl, mix baking mix, milk and remaining 3 tbsp oil. Plop tablespoon-fuls of the dough into the boiling soup (don’t worry: they’ll expand!) Bring back to a boil if it’s cooled off, cover again and simmer for 30 minutes.

Serves 6 to 8.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

