Used vs New Clothing

I don’t how y’all feel about it, but I’m a big fan of second hand clothing. It keeps things out of the landfill, my money doesn’t have to directly support companies I’m not always a fan of, I get to support local charities and best of all, it’s super cheap! And this normally shopping phobic girl loves finding high quality treasures on the rack that you would never guess aren’t brand new. Most of my clothing purchases since starting grad school, even pajamas, have been at thrift or consignment shops, but I do have a few things I refuse to buy used.

Underwear: I think to most people this is a big “duh.” And while sometimes Goodwill has panties, bras and socks that still have their original price tag, but the ick factor is too high.

Workout Clothes: I’m not talking about old cotton tees and sweats here, which I do occasionally pick up to use as work clothes; I’m talking about fancy wicking “technical” workout clothing. I don’t know about you, but when I look at that stuff, all I think about is sweat and dirt. Not to mention that type of material seems to hang onto body odors despite repeated washings. Smelling myself while working out is bad enough, I don’t want to smell anybody else.

 

Everyday Shoes: I know there are people who voluntarily buy all their shoes second hand but they must have either better luck or knees and back than I do. I’m a big walker: it’s a rare day when I don’t cover at least three miles, usually five so I need high quality shoes that are comfortable. I’ve found secondhand shoes that meet those requirements exactly twice. Everything else is super cheap or on the point of falling apart. If I find dress shoes with minimal or no wear and tear I’ll buy those, however it’s hard to find them in my freakishly small size.

What’s your policy on used clothes and shoes?

2 Comments

Filed under Style, Thrifting

2 responses to “Used vs New Clothing

  1. I *wish* I could like them, particularly as you say so accurately, because “It keeps things out of the landfill, my money doesn’t have to directly support companies I’m not always a fan of, I get to support local charities and best of all, it’s super cheap” all things I am in favour of. I try to purchase special one-offs and try never to frequent shops like Forever 21 (yuck) which are the environmental nightmare of the next generations.

  2. You’re not the only one: I have a friend who is totally squicked out by the fact that I shop at thrift stores. And honestly, if I had the money, I’d shop nicer stores where I could just duck in, try on a handful of jeans in the right cut and wash to find the pair that fits and run back out.

Leave a Reply

