Pantry Staples

Last night I reached into my vegetable drawer only to find a pile of yuck: apparently something rotted and decided to take everything thing else out with it. However after some gagging and making faces I got to work making dinner with kitchen staples. Fortunately, long ago I realized that my life was easier if I always had certain foods in my kitchen so that I always have a Plan B.

Grains: brown rice, whole wheat pasta, oatmeal, popcorn

Proteins: lentils, chickpeas, black beans, eggs, raw almonds (freezer), cheddar and mozzarella cheeses (freezer)

Vegetables: onions, garlic, canned tomatoes, carrots, celery, frozen spinach, frozen broccoli

With these ingredients, some cooking oil and a few spices, I can come up with a healthy meal or snack from almost any culture in no time.

What are your kitchen staples?

Leave a comment

Filed under House and Garden

Leave a Reply

