Salsa Soup

So last week, I managed to celebrate with food every single day and there are still leftovers in my fridge. This week I wanted some kind of dish that might use up some of those leftovers, would be nice and light but still warm and filling on cold (for NorCal) fall nights. I came up with this all from my kitchen staples, which happens tastes great and is good for you. However, just to ease myself back into this health food thing, I added a blob of sour cream, but nonfat Greek yogurt would also be tasty. And for the record, this would be really easy to throw in the crockpot for later.

Salsa Soup

  • 4 cups cooked pinto beans or 2 cans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 cups salsa
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cups corn
  • 1 box frozen spinach or 1 bag baby spinach

Combine beans, broth, salsa and onions in a soup pot. Bring to a simmer, cover, and cook until onions are tender, about 30 to 45 minutes. Stir in corn and spinach and cook until hot, about 5 minutes. Serves 6.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipe

3 responses to “Salsa Soup

  1. I would have never thought to use salsa as a soup base. It’s similar to using canned tomatoes!

    • I have to admit, I wouldn’t have thought to use it either, except I had 3 open jars of salsa that needed to be used up. And even be better than canned tomatoes since it’s also got other veggies already chopped up for you, like onions, peppers and garlic. It was so nice to just dump the ingredients in and let it simmer while I took care of other housework.

Leave a Reply

