November 19 Weekly Update

Hey guys! Sorry about the disappearing act: let’s just say I over extended myself a little bit. Last weekend for the long weekend I went to book club, girls night out, painted my living room and went on a pumpkin marathon with some friends: we made pumpkin ravioli, pumpkin pasta, pumpkin syrup, pumpkin butter, pumpkin bread and pumpkin pie. All this before a ridiculous work week and organizing a cocktail party.

This Saturday I ran a half marathon in high winds and pouring cold rain then threw myself a birthday party and paraded around in stilettos tonight. Not surprisingly I spent Sunday on the couch in my pj’s watching old movies and reruns of Gilmore Girls, but it was totally worth it.

Money

Spending: I might have gone a little overboard with food and drinks for my party but nothing that I didn’t budget for. I could have made the celebration a potluck or done something more low key, but a girl only turns 30 (!) once and I love to entertain.

Gifts!: I definitely didn’t make money this week, but my very sweet friends brought me lots of fun presents. Clearly they know me well since it mostly consisted of old vine zinfandels and proseccos (California has turned me into a wine snob) and Starbucks gift cards. However, my favorite gifts might have been the set of tea cups decorated with the chemical structure of caffeine and the enormous wine glass covered with zebra stripes and rhinestones and emblazoned with the words “Wine Diva.” Now I’m a little worried that my friends only think of me as an alcoholic caffeine fiend but, hey, that’s what grad school does to a girl.

School

For my writing class I have to do a conference-style presentation in two weeks and hand in a journal style article a week after that. Since I will be presenting this at a conference in January and hope to submit the article to a real journal around the same time I’m working hard to make this as polished and presentable as possible now. In the meantime I’m trying to wrap up loose ends on the project I’m stepping down on so I can hand it over to somebody else.

Health and Fitness

I ran a half marathon and set a personal record! Not bad for not having trained nearly enough. I think the cruddy weather conditions pushed me on because I just wanted the race to be over so I could dry off and warm up. While I’m doing great on the cardio front, I looked at the pictures from the party and it was a harsh realization that I still have got to lose some weight.

I’m feel a little disheartened about my weight and frustrated with myself since I post goals here every week and never meet them. I eat really healthy meals, but fall apart with too many “treats”, typically desserts and alcohol. And heading into the holiday season those treats are going be around more than ever. Any suggestions?

Menu

Lunches: Brown rice, black beans, salsa and guacamole for the work days.

Suppers: Between more birthday celebrating and multiple Thanksgivings, I’ll be at other people’s homes for dinner every single night this week.

2 Comments

Filed under Checking-In, Goals

2 responses to “November 19 Weekly Update

  1. Way to go on the half marathon! And good luck getting your article published–that is a BIG deal!

  2. Thanks! It feels pretty good to have so much of my life moving in the direction I want.

Leave a Reply

