Lavender Neck Roll

When I was a kid, my mother had a lavender neck roll: a long skinny pillow filled with rice and lavender. When you had a headache, she would put it in the microwave then wrap it around your neck. It was perfect for soothing tense muscles and the smell was heavenly. It was also fantastic for keeping you warm on a chilly winter’s evening, so one of my brothers and I would fake headaches to be able to use it. Since I’m prone to headaches, I decided to buy one for myself. However, everything I found online was at least $20, which thought was a bit much. So, I decided to dig through my stash of fabric and come up with my own version. Fortunately I have a ton of lavender from my garden this summer. Don’t have access to lavender or don’t like it? Use another herb, like chamomile or mint, or infuse your rice with the essential oil of your choice.

Supplies

  • 30 in by 9 in strip of fabric (flannel would be fabulous here)
  • 2x 9 inch piece of cotton webbing
  • 7 cups of rice or rice/herb mixture
  • needle, thread and straight pins

Start with a 30 in by 9 in piece of fabric.


Fold long ways so good side faces inward, pin long raw edges together, and mark 1/4 in.

Sew along that edge, then turn right side out and fold the edges of one of the short ends inward.

Tuck in the ends of one piece of webbing and sew them down while closing the end of the tube. You could probably leave the webbing off, but I like it because this thing gets really hot.


Next fill the tube with your rice mixture. I went with almost half and half rice and lavender, and it’s pretty powerful, which I love. You don’t want to completely stuff the pillow, because you want it to be able to curve around your neck.

Close the other short end by repeating the steps above.

Now that your neck roll is done, simply pop it in the microwave for 2 to 3 minutes and enjoy. These things make great presents. I actually made two and sent one to my sister for her birthday and she loves it!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY

Leave a Reply

