Spicy Italian Lentils

Lentils are one of my favorite legumes. Compared to other common beans, they’re higher in protein and lower in carbs per serving. Even better, they cook up from dried in just 20 to 30 minutes, which means much less planning and cook time. I was fully prepared to make them my usual way, but I had an extra chili pepper rolling around in my vegetable bin, so I started to chop that up. Hot peppers made me think of spicy Italian sausage, so I decided to go with the detour and came up with this recipe, which I hope y’all will love as much as I do.

Spicy Italian Lentils

  • 2 tbsp vegetable or olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 chili pepper, deseeded and minced or 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning mix
  • 1 cup lentils
  • 2-3 cups of water
  • 1 tsp salt or to taste

Heat oil in a medium pot over medium heat. Add onions and cook until tender, about 5 minutes. Add garlic, chilies or pepper flakes, and herbs and cook until very fragrant, about 2 minutes. Add lentils and cook until glistening. Add water and salt, bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat to a simmer. Cook until lentils are tender, about 20 minutes, adding water if needed. Serves 4.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipe

2 responses to “Spicy Italian Lentils

  1. Ooh that sounds really good! I’ve never made lentils but I always order them at Indian restaurants. I never thought about putting an italian twist though b/c I’ve only seen it prepared at those restaurants. 🙂

  2. They’re pretty delicious! This dish is made with brown or green lentils and I like it as is, scooped up with baguette, but it’s also good over marinara as a meat substitute.

Leave a Reply

