Simple Jersey Skirt

Like many of you, I get a little obsessed with Pinterest sometimes. Lately one girlfriend and I have been passing back and forth pins for t-shirt crafts. Finally she challenged the two of us to actually start making some! With the pressure off from my giant test, I thought I’d share some of the crafts I’ve been doing. This one requires absolutely no sewing, which was awesome. I picked up the tee for this craft from the thrift store for a whopping $0.50 and had the ribbon in my stash.

Simply cut a t-shirt in a straight line beneath the armpits. Discard the top half. Snip vertical slits in the hem.

Feed a ribbon into one hole, through the hem and out the other slit. To make this easier, attach a safety pin to the end of the ribbon and tug that through the fabric. Once you’re done, tie knots on the end of the ribbon.

Spill a few drops of water on the skirt, flip it over and wonder what the heck you’ve made. Then put it on, admire your handiwork and take a poorly lit photo of it.

Simple Jersey Skirt

  • 1 men’s t-shirt that fits over your widest part
  • 1 ribbon that’s 6 inches longer than the circumference of your shirt
  • scissors
  1. Cut the shirt in a straight line underneath the arm pits.
  2. Snip 2 small vertical slits in the center of the hem.
  3. Thread ribbon into one hole, through hem, and out the other hole.
  4. Tie knots in the end of the ribbons.
  5. Put on and enjoy!
2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Thrifting

2 responses to “Simple Jersey Skirt

  1. It looks great ! I tried a Pinterest shirt recently… it was a fail. But to be fair I think the old shirt I used was too small and needed to be a baggy mens one.

  2. Pingback: T-Shirt Tote | budgetgradstudent

Leave a Reply

