Pesto!

I realize that fall has arrived in many parts of the Northern Hemisphere, but here in Nor Cal, summer is hanging on. But, the summer crops are about to give out and many people are getting sick of them, so it’s time to scoop up some great produce for a bargain. I saw a post on Freecycle offering basil, replied “Yes, please!” and went home with an armload. Of course, a girl can only use so much pesto in one sitting, but fortunately it freezes beautifully. I like to put it in ice cube trays, then transfer the pesto cubes into freezer bags and drop them into my tomato sauces, etc all winter long when I want a kick of basil.

I don’t use the pine nuts in this version, since I’m freezing it, and quite frankly, I don’t like them. Feel free to report me to the Italian authorities. Also, I make this in my food processor. I’ve used a blender, but it required periodically stopping it to push down the leaves. Don’t have either? In the ancient Roman tradition, finely chop the basil leaves. It’ll take a while and you’ll end up with a rougher product, but it will be delicious.

Pesto!

  • 1 large bunch of basil, removed from stems (about 6 cups, loosely packed)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 cup good parmesan
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • salt to taste

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth. Makes about 1 1/2 cups. If desired, spoon into ice cube trays and freeze.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

