Tomatillo Salsa

As I mentioned yesterday, a coworker gave me 20 pounds of tomatillos and I kept 10 pounds for myself before passing the rest on. I decided to try a new recipe for canning tomatillo salsa that I found from National Center for Home Food Preservation. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but canning requires a certain balance of acids, sugar, and salt to prevent spoiling, so when using a new recipe, I try to find a reputable source. This stuff is ah-maz-ing. The second batch didn’t even make it into jars because I want to eat it now. Fortunately my coworker is bringing me more tomatillos next week. Yay! If you can’t find tomatillos, you can use green tomatoes, which you can ask your friendly local farmer about. As always, if you don’t feel like finely chopping by hand, pulse the veggies in your food processor.

Tomatillo Salsa

  • 5 cups tomatillos, hulled, rinsed and chopped (don’t worry about peeling or seeding)
  • 1 1/2 cups seeded and finely chopped long chiles (like Ancho or Pasilla)
  • 1/2 cup seeded and finely chopped jalapeno
  • 4 cups finely chopped onions
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup commercial lemon or lime juice
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 4 to 5 pint glass canning jars, with seals and rings

Prepare your jars and lids. Combine all ingredients in a large non-reactive pot (stainless steal or enameled cast iron), bring to a boil and simmer uncovered for 20 minutes. Hot pack in prepared jars, leaving 1/2 in head space and water bath process for 15 minutes.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipe

2 responses to “Tomatillo Salsa

  1. This sounds great! For some reason, I am seeing tomatillos all over the blogosphere just presently! I would never have the motivation to get into preserving, you should probably just post me some šŸ™‚

  2. Hmm, what will you give me in exchange?

Leave a Reply

