Land of the Misfit Condiments

Tuesday night I came home and felt ambitious. I canned 9 ½ pints of crushed tomatoes (thank you Tomato Fairy!), 4 half pints of sweet pickle relish, and baked a loaf of whole wheat bread. During the long water bath time for tomatoes, I decided to tackle my refrigerator. The shelves and drawers weren’t too bad: they just required a wiping down.

However, the door was another story all together. Apparently my refrigerator door is where unwanted condiments go into exile. I had a few jars of hot sauce with only few drops left, some sauces I bought on a whim that I never liked. Those were easy to empty, rinse, and put in the recycling bin. However, the scary parts were things I actually use. When I moved in, I bought medium sized containers of ketchup, mayo, and mustard, since they were cheaper by the ounce. Along the way I picked up a handful of salad dressings on nights when I was too lazy to even mix my own salad dressing. What’s wrong with that, you might ask? Well, I finally checked the expiration dates, and the most recent one was December of last year. Yes, they still smelled and looked ok and apparently tasted fine the last time I used them, but do I really need foods that are so processed they last for a YEAR beyond their official expiration date?

Obviously, those all got dumped. But what to do about any potential replacements? Well, salad dressing dressing takes about 10 seconds to whip together between olive oil, vinegar or lemon juice, and a pinch of seasonings, so no more excuses there. Also, lately I’ve been making my own mayonnaise, which comes out in small batches and is ah-mazing. I’ve seen some recipes for mustard that seem pretty straight forward and should give me super fancy mustard for not much money.

Anyways, now I have a clean and organized refrigerator where I can actually see all the condiments I own! Hurrah! Here’s hoping I’m not repeating this experiment in a few months.

Leave a comment

Filed under Simplify

Leave a Reply

