Cleanliness is Next to Godliness

As I’m attempting to simplify my life by getting rid of things that clog my house, I’m also realizing that I need to take better care of what I already have. While confronting my pantry last week I realized the white door was getting a little grungy where I handled it. I looked around and noticed that all my cabinets were kind of grungy, particularly those under the sink.

Please note the grayish ick on the bottom. And once again, I’m really selling my kitchen, aren’t I?

Anyways, this week I spent an evening with a bowl of hot soapy water, a dish cloth, an old toothbrush, and a little bit of elbow grease. For the most part, this system worked really well: stains, grease, and dust came right off. That is, until I got to the cabinets under the sink. You see, I bought this house from some inexperienced flippers. Yes, they repainted the cabinetry, but they did a bad job of it, including painting over dirt, leaving bumps in places, and without sanding, so the latex peels off. So, yes, I managed to get most of the dirt off, but unfortunately that meant I occasionally took off a layer (or two) of paint by accident. Those brown spots on the lower left? That’s bare wood. Oops. Perhaps a future project will include properly stripping, sanding, and repainting my cabinets.

Regardless, my cabinets now sparkle, which makes my floor look dingy in comparison. Guess that’s due for a good scrubbing too.

2 Comments

Filed under House and Garden, Simplify

2 responses to “Cleanliness is Next to Godliness

  1. Good job! I recently did the same thing, I don’t think we bought from flippers, but they definitely took some shortcuts, did not clean the place up well before leaving (UGH). So the cupboards were gross. Feels way better now !!

Leave a Reply

