No Sugar Blackberry Jam

A few weeks ago, I got an email from Deborah saying that her blackberry hedge was ready. Did I want to come pick any? Hah! Silly question, of course I did! So after work on a 100+ degree day, I went to go pick. In about 45 minutes I had 9 pint baskets filled with blackberries and a girlfriend headed to my house to help can. After eating a pint between the two of us and a glass of red wine or two, we decided we were going to go wild and leave all the sugar out of this jam, and oh my goodness, I’m so glad we did. This doesn’t taste like most jams; instead it’s super tart and tastes intensely of berries. I wouldn’t do this with anything but the freshest berries you can get your hands on. I don’t think even stone fruits would hold up well to this version.

As for the technical details, as always with canning, follow the directions for sterilizing and setting up a water bath that I put in my first canning post. To make this a truly sugar free jam, without subbing in artificial sweetners, the only pectin I’ll use is Ball RealFruit Pectin, low or no-sugar needed variety, in the flex batch size. In general, I really love Ball products, since they’re reliable, high quality and very affordable.

No Sugar Blackberry Jam

  • 8 cups blackberries
  • 1 1/3 cup water
  • 6 tbsp pectin
  • 8 half pint glass jars with seals and lids

In a large non-reactive pot over medium heat, combine blackberries and water. Stir frequently, mashing the berries with the back of a large spoon, as the mixture comes to a boil. Add pectin and allow to simmer for 1 to 2 minutes, while continuing to stir. Pour into prepared jars, leaving 1/2 in head space, and water bath process for 5 minutes.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipe

2 responses to “No Sugar Blackberry Jam

  1. Pingback: My Next Battle with Tomatoes | budgetgradstudent

  2. Pingback: The First Year | budgetgradstudent

Leave a Reply

