Keeping Cool

In order to save on energy bills this summer, I’ve been avoiding running my air conditioning unless I have friends over. It’s not too bad, particularly after I sit in my freakishly cold office all day, but I have learned a few tricks for keeping cool.

  1. Top knot. If my hair is off my neck, I feel way cooler.
  2. Strip it off. As soon as I get home, I get down to as few layers as possible. Currently I’m rocking a tank and short shorts that I’d never wear in public, but I’m also a huge fan of pulling out an old sarong.
  3. Cucumber water. My vegetable bin is overflowing with cucumbers, which are delicious sliced up into a pitcher of water. Also, it saves me from having to eat any more of those, since I’m going to burn out soon.
  4. Popsicles. I’m currently obsessed with homemade fruit popsicles. Puree some seasonal fruit, add a pinch of sugar, pour into molds and you’re done. Right now I have a batch of blueberry, peach, and blood orange. A friend always has several strawberry lemon.
  5. Fan. Fortunately this area has low humidity and cool off from 100 during the day to 55 at night. I’ve perfected propping a fan in the window of my second story bedroom window and can lower the temperature of my room by almost 10 degrees.

Any other tips for keeping cool during a hot summer?

3 Comments

Filed under Cutting Back, Going Green

3 responses to “Keeping Cool

  1. Great tips. I think I might need to make some popsicles. I have a trick I used when I had no air conditioning and a south facing apartment. Fill up a spray bottle with cool water. Set it to mist and spray yourself every little while. I used to use that trick during summer when I had no air conditioning and a south facing apartment. If it is too hot to sleep at night, use that same spray bottle to lightly mist your sheets and have a fan turned towards you.

  2. Jessica

    I agree. These are great ideas. This is my first summer without AC, and it’s been a bit of an adjustment. To add to Catherine’s suggestion, I used to spray my mist bottle into the fan and let the mist blow back onto me. It was so refreshing. Also, when the heat got really unbearable, I used to wrap a cool, damp towel around the back of my neck or even put on a swimsuit, grab a book, and read in a bathtub full of cool water. Good luck staying cool.

  3. Ooh, I like the idea of adding the mist. Plus, it might be nice for my sinuses in all this dry heat. Thanks ladies!

Leave a Reply

