Net Worth July 2012

So, I’m now 6 months into this budgeting experiment and have gotten really wrapped up in the day-to-day and monthly expenses. However, I thought I’d take a look and see what my finances look like as a big picture.

Debts

  • Mortgage: $50,800
  • Credit Cards: $5,600
  • Student Loans: $20,000
  • Total: $76,400

Fortunately, the credit cards are down $800 in 6 months, which isn’t great but once I start my double pay, I should be able to lower that number considerably in the next few months.  Also, since I’ve been doing research, the student loan part hasn’t gone up at all.

Assets

  • House Value: $125,000
  • Car: $2,000
  • Savings: $2,000
  • Total: $129,000

The house value I got off of Zillow, which may not be the best estimate, so make of it what you may. As for my car, Slick isn’t worth much technically, but he’s paid for, fuel efficient, reliable, and to me, completely invaluable. Finally, I’ve been able to put $1300 into savings in the past 6 months, another decent achievement for my rather tight budget.

Net Worth

$52,600

I have to say, I’m pretty proud of this. Clearly this is mostly due to the value of my home. I managed to buy at the bottom of the market, make a down payment of over 20%, and now it has doubled its market value. I doubt I could actually get that price today but it’s nice to know I did something right along the way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Budget, Checking-In

Leave a Reply

