Upgrading My Intertubes

I hope everybody had a great 4th of July! Today, I’m celebrating a different kind of freedom.

Y’all, I published this post from the comfort of my own couch. That may not seem like a big deal to you, but I’ve been functioning without wireless internet for over 2 years now. Unless I was sitting at my kitchen table, I couldn’t play online, watch movies, or blog. Occasionally I’d be irritated by the set-up, but never irritated enough to bother to buy a wireless router and set it up. What changed? Well, I’m glad you asked.

In January, I called my internet company to see if I could get a discount. They gave me one that would run for six months. Since that was ending soon, I thought I’d call again and see if they could extend that special offer. Unfortunately, the customer service rep couldn’t do that for me, but he could sign me up for another discounted program. It would only cost $3.50 more than I currently paid. However, it would require an upgrade from DSL to the fiber-optic network, so I would need to get a new modem. But wait! He had a rebate offer of up to $100 for wireless modems, which happens to be the exact cost of the standard model.

So, for $3.50 more a month, I’m getting faster service and wireless. Totally makes it worth navigating that voice activated customer service menu, doesn’t it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Cutting Back

Leave a Reply

