Hamburger Buns

A while ago, I posted my favorite basic recipe for veggie burgers. Lately, with my stash of whole wheat flour, I’ve been experimenting with homemade buns to go with those homemade burgers. I’ve found one I really like and in honor of the holiday, I thought I’d share it with you.

Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water, divided
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose or bread flour
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  1. In a large bowl, combine 1/2 cup of warm water with sugar and yeast. Set aside for 10 minutes, until the yeast starts to foam.
  2. Mix in salt, baking soda, and flours until combined, trickling in the remaining 1 cup of water.
  3. Knead in the oil and continue to knead for another minute until dough has absorbed oil and is smooth.
  4. Place dough in a lightly oiled bowl, with room to grow, cover with a kitchen towel, and set aside to rise for 2 hours.
  5. Punch dough down and divide into 6 smooth balls.
  6. Place buns on a greased or lined cookie sheet a few inches apart, and lightly push down on top. Allow to rise for another hour.
  7. Preheat oven to 375 F. Bake buns for 25 minutes.
1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Hamburger Buns

  1. I’ve never even thought of making my own buns! Will have to try soon.

Leave a Reply

