Research Trip

I’m a bit embarrassed to say that I’ve now lived in California for almost 4 years and I have never been to Los Angeles. Fortunately, yesterday changed that. I had the opportunity to present my latest research to some industry insiders, so my boss and I flew down to talk to them and see how we could collaborate on future projects. It felt so grown-up to take the first flight out in professional clothes, be taken seriously by people who actually work in this field, go to a business lunch, then fly back home the same night. Plus, I got to see bits and pieces of a new city, meet some really fun people, and be inspired by places where my work will have a real impact.

My boss offered to let me stay for another day or so and still pay for my ticket back home, but the hotel, car rental and additional food would have been on me. I decided I’d rather wait to explore the city when I don’t have several projects looming over my head and when I might have somebody to enjoy the experience with.

Leave a comment

Filed under School

Leave a Reply

