She Works Hard for the Money

…Or in this case, produce!

Last night I was contemplating my budget and income (next month is going to be tight!) and realized that I’ve never posted on about a consistent source of income for me. Don’t ask me why, the best I could come up with is that I have so much fun and I’m not paid in cash, therefore I don’t think of it as income. What am I babbling about? The farm.

I’ve been subscribing to Nevermore Farm’s CSA for 4 years. Last summer, when I was finally beginning to accept that I needed to balance my budget, I heard that Deborah needed some extra help on the farm. We came to a very mutually beneficial decision: I go out to the farm once or twice a month, in exchange for maintaining my subscription for free. And it turns out, I really love it out there. It’s so satisfying to spend time with a friend, and at the end of the day look at rows of new transplants, piles of weeds gone, or baskets of produce picked. I also get to channel my inner child and squeal when I get to drive the four-wheeler, forklift, and tractors.

Plus, I still get my deliveries of fruits, vegetables, nuts, beans, rice and the occasional dozen eggs. And, this year there’s a wheat harvest, so now I’ve got freshly ground, locally grown whole wheat flour. Which translates to a current monthly grocery budget of $40 for milk, yeast, spices and small splurges. If push comes to shove, I could probably go a month without grocery shopping at all.

Monthly savings: $60

2 Comments

Filed under Income

2 responses to “She Works Hard for the Money

  1. Jessica

    That’s such an incredible setup you’ve got! I would love to be able to do the same thing, but alas, I lack the required transportation and contacts. 🙂

    • I have to admit, I’m pretty lucky. Of course, Deborah keeps swearing she gets the better end of the deal: labor in exchange for something she’s already got a lot of.

Leave a Reply

