Cleaning Houses

So, I have a few close friends that I’ve let in on the fact that I’ve been really working on getting my budget under control and paying down my debt. Fortunately, I have fantastically supportive friends who are really looking out for me.

A few weeks ago, one of these friends told me that a woman she knew was looking for someone to clean her house. She couldn’t pay a lot, but she wasn’t asking for a lot. I thought about it for maybe a minute before deciding that I could definitely handle cleaning someone’s house. I know how to scrub a toilet and dust a room, and extra cash could never hurt.

So, twice a month for a few hours, at $10 an hour, I go over to this family’s house.They’re perfectly nice when I come over, often have a cup of coffee waiting for me, then they clear out, so me and my iPod can get to work. I clean the bathroom, scrub down the kitchen, dust the living room, then tackle all the floors, and after 3 to 4 hours I’m on my way. I have to say, it’s really satisfying to work hard and see visible results, and I love having a little more wiggle room in my budget.

What would you be willing to do to make a little extra money?

Leave a comment

Filed under Income

Leave a Reply

