Homemade Deodorant, Updated

All right, y’all, I’m willing to admit when things don’t go exactly as planned. The homemade deodorant I made? It gave me a rash. And rash arm pits really aren’t very fun. I did some googling and determined that other people with sensitive skin have had the same reaction to that recipe, since the baking soda can be a little harsh. They recommended going half and half with cornstarch and baking soda. I didn’t have any cornstarch in my pantry, since I generally hate to cook with it, but I did have baby powder, which these days is mostly made of cornstarch. Apparently cornstarch (or baby powder!) is gentler than baking soda, and actually helps to absorb the moisture while the baking soda eliminates any odor. Also, if you have tea tree oil on hand, it can act as an antibacterial, though the smell is a little medicine-y to me. I’ve been using this new recipe for a month so I can wholeheartedly endorse it to y’all. It keeps me dry and smell- and rash-free. Finally, with the newly arrived hot weather, once the temperature in my apartment hit 80, I opened the container to find deodorant soup, so I’ve moved it to my refrigerator. Now it feels nice and cool and refreshing to apply in the mornings.

(P.S. Since my camera is still AWOL and my phone is refusing to talk to my computer, I’m attempting to take pictures with my webcam. Please bear with my experiment.)

Homemade Deodorant

  • 1/4 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cornstarch or baby powder
  • 5 tbsp coconut oil
  • few drops essential oil

Melt coconut oil in the microwave. Mix in baking soda, baby powder, and essential oils. Pour mixture into a tin or jar and allow to set overnight. In the morning, rub a little onto your fingers, swipe under your arms, then rinse your fingers off.

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Health and Beauty

2 responses to “Homemade Deodorant, Updated

  1. Pingback: The First Year | budgetgradstudent

  2. Pingback: Weekly Update: January 7 | budgetgradstudent

Leave a Reply

