Almond Butter

I know that this is normally the point in the week where I post some kind of hearty and affordable vegetarian main dish. However, as I mentioned yesterday, this week is more than a little crazy for me. Add in a back injury that has me spending most of my time at home trying to type while lying flat on my back, and this week has turned into defrost soup from the freezer kind of week.

However, I thought I’d share a staple of my diet. Almost every single morning, I have almond butter and jam on whole grain bread, with a glass of milk and a piece of fruit. I know, my life is a thrill a minute. But hey, it’s got the protein and fiber to get me through to lunch, can be eaten on the go, and since all of it is homemade, makes for a pretty cheap. When I first saw a blog about making your own almond butter, I thought that person had to be insanely domestic. But then I got access to lots of affordable, locally grown almonds and I had to find a use for them. And, I’ve got to say I was amazed by how easy it was and how tasty the end result was. My brother was visiting me and ate the entire batch over one weekend.

Almond Butter

  • 1 lb almonds

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spread almonds on a cookie sheet. Cook for 10 minutes, shaking halfway through. When almonds are done, pull out and dump into a food processor. (This is the hardest part.) Process the almonds in long bursts until almonds reach almond buttery texture. I usually turn it on for a minute or two, scrape down the sides, and go at it again. Put in a container with a lid, and store in the refrigerator.

Don’t quote me on the shelf life, but I’ve kept jars of this stuff for a month or so, and have always finished it off before I worried about it going bad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

