DIY Playdough

The other week, I found myself in charge of a few 6 and 7 year olds.  I’m not a fan of just turning on a movie, but wanted to find something fun, tactile and cheap. I did some Googling and realized that playdough was incredibly cheap to make myself, and only called for ingredients that I already had in my pantry. This website, playdoughrecipe.com, has a whole bunch of recipes. I went with the version that I already had everything on hand for,  called Cooked Playdough. And following their directions, I realized it was not only cheap but super easy. It took me around 20 minutes to make 4 batches: 1 for each color of food coloring I had on hand. My one piece of advice is don’t substitute sea salt or kosher salt for table salt: it doesn’t dissolve, and makes for gritty playdough.

Cooked Playdough

  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ cup salt
  • ½ tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • food coloring

Put all ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat. Whisk ingredients together, then stir slowly. In 2 to 3 minutes, the soupy mix will magically come together into a ball.

Remove playdough, knead once or twice, then place in an open container to cool.

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY

Leave a Reply

