Adventures in Cycling, Part I

With my new emphasis on cutting back, I’ve been riding my bike a lot more recently. It saves money, is good for the environment and is great exercise, so I get to feel smug all around. I thought I’d share some of the fun things I’ve been doing via bike.

My friend and I love an Irish pub in the city about 20 miles away and  we are thrilled that they recently opened a second branch in our town. Being a bit of a nerd, I friended them on Facebook, and saw 2 weeks ago that they were organizing a free Pub to Pub Ride. I immediately signed my buddy and I up.

We caught an early bus to the city this morning (free with our monthly passes) and were vaguely intimidated by the array of cyclists waiting at the pub. We count ourselves as intermediate riders: we have road bikes, padded shorts and non-cotton tee shirts, but no clip-in pedals, curved handlebars or fancy team jerseys. Fortunately there also a few people in regular workout clothes, old sneakers and propping up cruisers. We had a great 15ish mile guided ride through the city, across the wetlands, and into our own town.

We were pretty hungry by the time we got into town, but lunch at the pub was out of our budget. Then we remembered it was Farmer’s Market Day, which we never manage to get to. We headed over there and sampled our way through dried and fresh fruits, popcorn, cheeses, and dips before splitting a $3 sticky bun, still warm from the oven, and getting a $2 cup of coffee.

So, for $3.50 I got exercise, a morning with a friend, and a delicious and filling snack.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cycling, Going Green

Leave a Reply

