My Second Expedition to the Best Grocery Store in Town

Yay for March and a fresh grocery budget! Throughout February, as I ran low on staples, I wisely added them to the list for a trip to the discount grocery store. Then, a friend decided to clear out her pantry and deep freezer and pass on almost 20 (!) pounds of whole-wheat flour and 5 of regular, which takes care of my bread needs for the next few months. And with that additional wiggle room in my budget, I was able to add some luxury goods, so off to Grocery Outlet, Bargain Market I went. Unfortunately, they’re a little hit or miss, and they didn’t have 3 of the items on my list, so I’ll have to stop by the regular grocery store and pay full price. But, I did so well on everything else, paying full price won’t make me flinch too much.

So, for a grand total of $17.50 I got:

  • 6 oz fancy feta in brine
  • 2 lbs spaghetti
  • 12 oz chocolate chunks (I owe a friend a batch of cookies)
  • 1 lb butter
  • 2 bars Scharffenberger dark chocolate
  • ½ lb local dried cherries
  • 1 bottle Merlot

What’s left? Vegetable bouillon, brown sugar (for the cookies) and frozen broccoli.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cutting Back

Leave a Reply

