Mustard Braised Leeks

Last week’s CSA box included a bunch of leeks and I already had a bag of potatoes in my pantry. Naturally, my mind went to potato leek soup. But, I’ve done that a thousand times before and still have a quart of it in my freezer from my last batch. Fortunately, my box also contained eggs, which led me to make a Spanish tortilla for lunch this week. Spanish tortilla is actually a cross between an omelet and a frittata, typically filled with thinly sliced potatoes. I’d offer up a recipe, but I’m still experimenting with my proportions of egg and potato and more importantly, my technique. My tortilla turned out more like scrambled eggs with potato: delicious, but not so visually appealing. However, my veggie turned out lovely. I turned out to one of my crushes, Mark Bittman, and the bible of my kitchen, How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. His braised leeks are incredibly simple and taste delicious.

Mustard Braised Leeks

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 lb leeks, cleaned, halved lengthwise, then cut into 4-6 inch lengths
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tbsp prepared mustard (I used spicy brown)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

In a large skillet that has a lid, heat oil over medium heat. Add leeks, salt, and pepper, and saute until beginning to brown, ~5 minutes. Dissolve mustard in water, pour over leeks, then cover and reduce heat to medium low. Allow to cook undisturbed for 20 minutes. Before serving, add lemon juice and adjust seasonings. Serves 4.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

