Savory Bread Pudding with Kale

I just love coming across recipes that use exactly what I’ve got on hand. Thanks to my latest delivery from my CSA I had a bunch of kale and a dozen eggs. Then on Saturday, my loaf of bread failed to rise, leaving me with a loaf of whole wheat bread that wouldn’t be the greatest for sandwiches, etc. So, when the New York Times published a recipe for Savory Bread Pudding with Kale (and Mushrooms) I knew what I’d be eating for lunch this week. It’s a delicious mix of the creamy texture of bread pudding I love with the savoriness of stuffing. Of course, I had to tweak the recipe to use what I had on hand, but I’m pretty proud of what I came up with. I threw the fried onion thingies on top since I had half a can left from Thanksgiving and wanted to use them up.

Savory Bread Pudding with Kale

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 bunch kale, destemmed & chopped
  • 1/2 medium onion, finely diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/2 lb whole wheat bread, cubed (about 1/2 of my small loaf)
  • 4 ounces Gruyere or Parmesan, grated (~1 cup)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups milk (I used skim)
  • fried onion pieces (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 F and grease a 2 quart casserole (I used my Pyrex 9×13).

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat, add onions and garlic, cook until soft, ~5 minutes. Add kale, salt & pepper, and sautee for 5 more minutes.

While the onions & kale are cooking, mix bread and cheese in a large bowl. In another bowl, beat eggs and milk with another pinch of salt & pepper. Pour over bread and cheese mixture, and allow to sit for 5 to 10 minutes so the bread can soak up the egg/milk mixture.

When kale & onions are done, fold into the bread mixture. Pour into prepared casserole and top with friend onion deliciousness, if desired.

Bake at 350 for 40 to 50 minutes, or until an inserted knife comes out clean and the pudding is puffed and brown. Serves 4 to 6.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

