Bargain Groceries

Being somewhat of a foodie, my grocery bill easily gets out of control. There’s always one more interesting ingredient to pick up. So, in an effort to cut back, once again, I gave myself a budget of $100 for groceries. My CSA membership, which provides me with all the fruits, vegetables, almonds, beans, eggs, and occasionally rice, that I need. Once I pay that bill of $56 a month ($28 every other week), I’m taking out $40 in cash to cover the rest: milk, flour, spices, cleaning supplies and whatever splurge ingredients I need. Since the first of the year I’ve gotten really good at sitting down with the email listing the box contents, and searching my cookbooks and online for recipes that use up my produce and pantry staples and not much else.

This month I decided to take my list of staples to the discount grocery store in my town, which I admit, I was too snobby to try before. Never again. For $18, I got:

  • Cascade dishwasher soap
  • box of trashbags
  • 1/4 lb Emmenthaler
  • 6 heads garlic
  • 1 bottle Canola oil (same health benefits as olive oil, fraction of the price)
  • 5 pounds sugar
  • 2 packs of marinated tofu
  • 2 packs of dark chocolate Reese’s (one of my favorite treats)

Not bad, huh? It’s a little out of my way, but now all I have to do is pick up my weekly half gallon of milk at my regular supermarket, a bag of onions next time I fill up at Costco (exciting, I know) and I should be set for the month.

1 Comment

Filed under Cutting Back

One response to “Bargain Groceries

  1. Sounds like you brought home good deals!

Leave a Reply

