Andalusian Pumpkin Sauce

Part of getting a CSA is often a commitment of seeing the same vegetables (and fruits) in your box for weeks on end. I’ve been eating some kind of pumpkin or roasted squash weekly since October. But with that comes the challenge to do something different with it almost every week so you don’t get tired of it. When I get my email describing what’s in the box, I hit the index of my cookbooks looking for a new recipe. I hadn’t considered my Spanish cook book (Cooking in Spain by Janet Mendel, if you’re curious!) for dealing with pumpkin before, but this week I flipped through just in case. There were several that all looked interesting and one that only called for ingredients that I had on hand. I roasted my hunk of pink banana squash (hard squash of the week!), threw the rest of the ingredients in my food processor, then poured it over chickpeas & rice. So delicious! It’s very refreshing and bright tasting, and made me feel like I was back in summer. For the carnivores out there, this would be delicious over roasted pork. (Spanish food always makes me think of pork).

Andalusian Pumpkin Sauce

  • 1 lb roasted hard squash or pumpkin OR 1 can pumpkin
  • 1 tomato seeded and peeled OR 1/2 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 2 tbsp vinegar (I used apple cider, red wine would also be delicious, not balsamic)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt & pepper to taste

Pour all ingredients into a blender or food processor. Process until smooth. Add a little water if too thick. Enjoy! Serves 4 to 6.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

