The Cold that Never Ends

I have had a cold that has lingered for over 2 weeks now, which is so not cool. In addition to the sheer discomfort of the stuffy head, sneezing and coughing, and the frustration from missed days at work, it has demolished my $20 “Health & Beauty” budget for the month. I started off the month buying my annual $10 bottle of vitamins from Costco. Then there was some Airborne to deal with the initial sore throat ($8), Zicam when I started sneezing ($12), 3 boxes of tissues to deal with the nonstop sneezing and running nose ($8), then 2 more of the fancy Puffs Plus when my face got raw ($4), and finally, Vick’s Vapo-Rub for those nights when I couldn’t stop coughing ($8). Thank goodness I already had a good stock of cough and cold medicines, otherwise I would’ve been on the hook for Sudafed, Tylenol, Robitussin and cough drops in addition to everything else. Hopefully next month all the OTCs will go on sale so I can replenish my medicine cabinet.

January Health & Beauty Budget: $20

What I actually spent: $50

Leave a comment

Filed under Health and Beauty

Leave a Reply

