Curried Pumpkin & Red Lentil Soup

I have a tendency to “flip” the heartiness of my meals. Breakfast is my biggest meal of the day (almond butter & jam on whole wheat, protein shake & fruit), followed by a medium lunch (beans, grain, veggie & a fruit) and light supper. If I try and eat light earlier in the day, I’m half crazed with hunger by supper time and tend to over eat. Therefore, my supper often is a salad in the summer and soup in the winter. This week, I’m loving my curried pumpkin & red lentil soup: so tasty, but entirely from things already in my pantry or from the farm.

Curried Pumpkin & Red Lentil Soup

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 medium or 1/2 large onion, coarsely diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 inch ginger, peeled & minced
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 2 cups cooked pumpkin or 1 can
  • 4 cups vegetable broth

In a stockpot, heat vegetable oil over medium heat. Add onions and cook until slightly soft, ~3 minutes. Add garlic, ginger & curry powder and cook until onions are pretty soft, another 5 minutes or so. Add lentils and stir until glistening. Add broth & pumpkin, bring to a boil and simmer, covered, until lentils are soft, ~20 minutes. Blend using immersion blender or in batches in your food processor or blender. Serves 4.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

