Spiced Syrup

While I’m not the biggest coffee drinker, it is a fun occasional splurge or desperate “I need caffeine” pick me up to stop by Starbucks in the morning. But, occasional splurges are my downfall and if they can be avoided, so much the better. I already have in my pantry a little one cup stove top espresso maker, like this one, so technically it takes me no more time to make it myself. To make it a latte, all I had to do is heat up some milk in the microwave, and add some sugar. But, in the winter months, I really love a good pumpkin or gingerbread latte. After some poking around online and hunting through my pantry, I combined a bunch of recipes to come up with a spiced simple syrup which is delicious in my weekly morning latte or in the pumpkin juice I mentioned in the last post. I store mine in a clean honey bear, since it’s got the nice spout on top.

Spiced Syrup

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp allspice

Combine all ingredients in small saucepan. Stir over medium heat until the sugar dissolves, then bring to a boil. Allow to simmer for 5 minutes, then turn off heat. Allow to cool, then pour into container. Store in refrigerator and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cutting Back, Recipe

Leave a Reply

