Homemade Veggie Burgers

I have to admit: I have a total crush on Mark Bittman. He’s a good cook, aware of the environment and socio-economic issues, and not hard on the eyes. I particularly like his attitude towards food sources: local when possible, less meat & dairy, but no need to be perfect, unless you have a strict moral reason. Personally, I’m mostly vegetarian, with the occasional lapse around seafood, which is getting more and more infrequent. However, I don’t care for a lot of the processed meat replacements. Paying $4 for 4 veggie burgers burns my chaps. So, I was excited to see his interactive on recipes for the semi-vegan, particularly, for the bean burger. It looked incredibly simple and adaptable. In honor of the Southern tradition of black eyed peas for wisdom on New Year’s Day, I made this “Black Eyed Pea Burger.” Sadly, my camera and I are currently fighting, so no pictures, but it basically looked like his.

Black Eyed Pea Burger

  • 2 cups cooked black eyed peas or 1 can, drained & rinsed
  • 1 medium, or 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 4 tbsp vegetable or Canola oil, divided
  • Cajun seasoning salt (I used Zatarain’s), to taste
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

Heat 2 tbsp oil in a medium frying pan over medium high heat. Add onions and cook until soft, 3-5 minutes. Combine with peas, seasoning salt & flour in food processor. Mix until chunky, but holds together. Adjust seasoning and add water if too dry, or extra flour if too wet. Divide into 4 even patties, and cook in remaining oil until golden brown. Serve like a burger.

I had mine with a little mayo & ketchup along side some collard greens and homemade pickles. Cheap and healthy!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Homemade Veggie Burgers

  1. Pingback: Hamburger Buns | budgetgradstudent

Leave a Reply

