Girlfriend Pasta

True story: this summer I went on a number of dates with guys I met online. Two of the guys bragged about their cooking skills so I asked them if they had a signature dish or style. Both responded, and I quote,

“If I had a girlfriend, I would sautee some veggies in a white wine sauce and serve it over pasta.”

What the heck? Is there a manual on what to serve your hypothetical girlfriend?

Anyways, this weekend I needed to use up the last of a bottle of white wine so I decided to make my own version of this mystical recipe.

Girlfriend Pasta

2 tbsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp flour
1/2 cup milk or cream
1/2 cup white wine
4 oz shredded parmesan cheese
8 oz whole wheat pasta, cooked
1/2 lb steamed vegetables (frozen works well)
Salt to taste

In a small sauce pan over medium low heat, heat olive oil. Add garlic and cook until soft, about 2-3 min. Whisk in flour and cook until lightly golden and smells toasty, about 2-3 min. Whisk in milk and stir constantly until mixture is thick, about 2-3 min. Stir in wine and cheese until cheese is melted. Fold in pasta and vegetables until evenly coated, then adjust salt to taste.

Serves 4.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipe

3 responses to “Girlfriend Pasta

  1. Hahahaha, while I was reading this post, I heard the voice of one of my guy friends telling about his ‘seducing pasta’, with white wine that is ;-) men, all the same!

  2. Yum, yum, yum! I’m going to try this sooner than later!!

Leave a Reply

