The Staying In Experiment

One of my good friends and I have a biweekly night out. We pick up some magazines, go to a coffee shop, order ridiculous drinks, and sit there flipping through the magazines, comparing articles and catching up. We were pretty proud of ourselves for our under $10 apiece evening out. However, that does add up.

In the spirit of the New Year, where I’m trying to save more and she’s trying to eat healthier, I offered to host an evening in. I picked up a head of lettuce, then whisked up some vinagrette and made a homemade pizza with ingredients I already had on hand. My cost? $1.99. She went to our library, which has a used magazine section for $0.25 each. She picked up a few back issues for $1.00 and brought some fancy salad toppings she had sitting in her pantry. We ate a lovely pizza, flipped through magazines, ripping out articles we liked (diet plans for her, budget suggestions for me!) for a whopping total of $2.99. Next time, she’s offered to cook, and I’ll bring a cheesy¬† movie for us to mock.

As for the pizza, I have to share my crust recipe with you. I got it off Andrea Meyer’s blog years ago and it works consistently for me. Since last night was just 2 of us, I cut the recipe in half, making 1 thin crust. I then topped it with low sugar fig preserves, 1/4 cup of blue cheese, and half of an onion, cut into strips and caramelized.

Quick and Easy Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/8 tsp instant yeast OR 1/2 packet quick rise yeast
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 6 tbsp (1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp) HOT water
  • 1/2 tbsp olive or vegetable oil + more for coating
  • coarse cornmeal

Combine flours, yeast, salt & sugar. Mix in water and 1/2 tbsp oil to form a soft dough. If it’s too sticky, add a little more flour; too dry, a little more water. Knead for 3 to 5 minutes or process in food processor or mixer for 1 minutes. Turn out onto floured cutting board, coat with a little more oil, then cover in plastic wrap. Allow to rest for 10 to 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 500 F. Roll out dough into 12 to 13 inch circle, or 9×13 rectangle (better for cookie sheet baking). Sprinkle cornmeal on pizza stone or cookie sheet, place dough on top, then add toppings.

Bake on lower rack for 10 to 15 minutes, or until crust is brown and cheese (if used) is bubbling.

1 Comment

Filed under Cutting Back, Recipe

One response to “The Staying In Experiment

  1. Sounds like a good night in!

Leave a Reply

